VILLAGE OF SIREN REORGANIZATION VILLAGE BOARD MEETING TUESDAY APRIL 18,2023 SIREN VILLAGE HALL

MINUTES

The Reorganization Village Board meeting held on April 18, 2023 was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Village President Dave Alden.

Members Present: Dave Alden, Rick Engstrom, Janet Hunter, Jeff Johnson, Rudy

Mothes, Jim Pearson, Steve Young

Others Present: Ann Peterson, Clerk/Treasurer; Trevor Thiex, Siren Police Chief;

Jim Jaskolka, Public Works Director; Brady Mangen, Siren Police

Officer; Wayne Larabee, Town of Oakland Chairman

Clerk/Treasurer Peterson swore in Village President Dave Alden and Village Trustees Rick Engstrom, Janet Hunter, and Jeff Johnson.

A motion was made by Rudy Mothes and seconded by Steve Young to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried without negative vote.

President Alden gave the President's Report. Trustee Pearson indicated that the Siren Fire Association will be meeting on Wednesday April 19th and one of the items that will be discussed was they want to hire a Fire Inspector to make sure that all inspections are being done correctly.

NEW BUSINESS

A motion was made by Janet Hunter and seconded by Steve Young to approve President Alden's Appointments (first named to be Chair)

- Buildings, Grounds & Parks: Rudy Mothes, Rick Engstrom, Janet Hunter
- Personnel & Finance: Janet Hunter, Jeff Johnson, Steve Young
- Public Safety: Jim Pearson, Rick Engstrom, Steve Young
- Streets & Utilities: Rick Engstrom, Rudy Mothes, Jim Pearson
- Citizen Appointments to Plan Commission & Board of Appeals: Chris Engstrom (three-year term)
- Ballpark Committee: Jim Jaskolka, Jeff Johnson, Tina Karsten, Trevor Thiex, Brian Webster
- Board Representative to Siren Fire Association: Jim Pearson
- Board Representative to Burnett Towns Association: Janet Hunter
- Tourism Appointees: Dave Alden, Chuck Anderson, Janet Hunter, Steve Rohde, and Jenni Smith
- Citizen Member of Joint Review Board: Douglas Beedle
- Designation of Official Depositories for Village funds: Bremer Bank, Community Bank, Local Government Investment Pool, U.S. Bank
- Designation of Official Newspaper: Inter County Leader

Motion carried without negative vote.

A motion was made by Janet Hunter and seconded by Rick Engstrom to appoint Jim Pearson to the Plan Commission. President Alden called for a roll call vote:

Alden aye Mothes aye
Engstrom aye Pearson aye
Hunter aye Young aye

Johnson aye Motion carried.

<u>Discussion/Action on development/sale of Tewalt Property</u>

The Board discussed the Tewalt Property. The investment group with Corey Bauer is still interested in purchasing the property. The Village owed \$203,562.75 as of the end of December 2022. The Board discussed needing a hard commitment from any potential developers, as well as determining who will handle the infrastructure, and would the entire parcel be sold or only the northern section that was plotted by North Country Surveying. The Village needs to ensure that any development will occur and that if the property is sold the developer won't just sit on the property and not actually develop. The Board decided that they would like to have Corey Bauer and his group submit a proposal for purchasing the property, in phases, and how they would move forward with the development including all infrastructure. The Village Subdivision Ordinance does require that infrastructure be put in place prior to any buildings are erected. A motion was made by Jim Pearson to ask Bauer Investment for a plan of action and possible sale of the property in phases, seconded by Steve Young. Motion carried without negative vote.

The meeting schedule was set as follows:

a. Committee of the Whole:

b. Plan Commission & Board of Appeals:

To be set if needed
April 19th at 10:00 a.m.

c. Tourism Commission:
 d. Public Safety Committee:
 e. Streets & Utilities Committee
 April 19th at 9:00 a.m. at the Lodge April 18th following Re-org Meeting April 18th following Public Safety

f. Personnel & Finance Committee: April 24th at 9:00 a.m.
 g. Buildings, Grounds & Parks Committee: April 24th at 10:00 a.m.

h. Ball Park Committee: May 8th at 6:00 p.m. at Pour House

i. Board of Review: May 9th 12:00 – 2:00 p.m.

A motion was made by Dave Alden and seconded by Steve Young to adjourn at 10:29 a.m. Motion carried without negative vote.

Ann L Peterson, WCMC/CMTW

Submitted by Ann Peterson Village Clerk/Treasurer